/var/www/restricted/ssh/stm32/www/stm32circle/ STM CircleOS forum / Primer2 analog ground bug

Username:     
Password:     

Forum

# 1   2009-04-09 22:18:11 Primer2 analog ground bug

kubark42

Primer2 analog ground bug

It seems that the Primer2 ties together the analog ground with the digital ground. This is quite unfortunate, as it dramatically reduces the usefulness of the ADC (and perhaps by extension the DAC). For instance, we've got some very sensitive analog accelerometers in the lab that are embedded with a GPS. Unfortunately, we can't use the Primer for this extension board as the GPS contaminates the accelerometer any time it sends serial data.

I'm not sure what can be done about this, except perhaps to fix it in a future revision. I've thought about cutting the traces where they tie into the digital ground, but I've got no experience with this and it might prove difficult. I'm open to any suggestions if anyone has ideas for how we can easily remedy this problem.

# 2   2009-04-09 23:16:52 Primer2 analog ground bug

nibj

Re: Primer2 analog ground bug

I think the grounds has to be tied together.

The realm problem is the ADC itself. Any SOC ADC's have noisy problems. Tricks can hide the problem in some applications, but for real sensitive signals the only choice is a good external ADC.
Look this article.

# 3   2009-04-10 06:25:09 Primer2 analog ground bug

kubark42

nibj :

I think the grounds has to be tied together.

The realm problem is the ADC itself. Any SOC ADC's have noisy problems. Tricks can hide the problem in some applications, but for real sensitive signals the only choice is a good external ADC.
Look this article.

Thanks for the link. I learned quite a lot reading it.