/var/www/restricted/ssh/stm32/www/stm32circle/ STM CircleOS forum / Executable size limitation?

Username:     
Password:     
             

Forum

# 1   2008-10-09 11:57:43 Executable size limitation?

Zilvinas
New member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 1

Executable size limitation?

Hello,

I am trying to compile simple program with standard C library. I generated project with CircleOS, and simlpy added

#include <stdio.h>

and some lines inside Application_Handler:

char bufer[10];
int j;
j=10;
sprintf(bufer,"j= %d",j);

------------------
Build has ended with the message:

!!!!!!!!! FLASH IS FULL !!!!!!!!!!!

Build failed


Does it means I can not use stdio.h with STM32 and supplied Ride environment?

Offline

 

# 2   2008-11-13 09:02:58 Executable size limitation?

Francis
Administrator
From: France-Grenoble
Registered: 2007-07-09
Posts: 890

Re: Executable size limitation?

sprintf is quite big. The standard Primer allows debbuging up to 32KB (including the CircleOS). It means that you can debug only up to 8KB of code (more that sprintf). However, there are some functions that perform 'itoa' conversion in the CircleOS API.

Offline

 

# 3   2008-11-13 09:05:19 Executable size limitation?

Francis
Administrator
From: France-Grenoble
Registered: 2007-07-09
Posts: 890

Re: Executable size limitation?

.. Note that the limitation when linking is due to the configuration of the LD file. You can easily modify it to link more than 32KB (the Primer1 embeds a 128KB FLASH, and 512KB for the Primer2). Then, you can also program the FLASH with either RIDE, RFLASHER or Cortex_pgm.exe without any limitation (but the FLASH size). But you cannot debug more than 32KB with the standard Primer..

Offline

 

# 4   2008-11-19 14:53:39 Executable size limitation?

lehominhtri
New member
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 7

Re: Executable size limitation?

Hi Francis,
I also have the same this problem. I want to know how to modify the LD file to increase FLASH

Offline

 

# 5   2008-11-21 15:55:07 Executable size limitation?

Francis
Administrator
From: France-Grenoble
Registered: 2007-07-09
Posts: 890

Re: Executable size limitation?

you just need to modify the LD file, referenced in the linker options. Open it and modify the length
of the FLASH section. Just search for "MEMORY" in the Circle_App.ld file.

Offline

 

Board footer