/var/www/restricted/ssh/stm32/www/stm32circle/ STM CircleOS forum / Newbie needing help with GPIO

Username:     
Password:     

Forum

# 1   2010-05-26 05:23:32 Newbie needing help with GPIO

unclesam88

Newbie needing help with GPIO

Hi,

Im working on a school project using the Primer2 and right now time is not on my side as my project deadline approaches so any help will be much appreciated.

I am very new to the Stm32 and am having trouble initializing the GPIO. Basically I need the primer2 to take a digital output from the A/D converter of another device and use it for calculations.

I have seen quite a few examples that use the GPIO's but I just cant make much sense of them. I would like to know how to properly intialize the GPIO for a digital input on one pin and a trigger on another pin aswell as how do I tell the stm32 to read the digital input pin when the trigger goes low.

thanks,
~Sam~

# 2   2010-05-26 07:21:53 Newbie needing help with GPIO

ntrf.zns

Re: Newbie needing help with GPIO

First of all i assume you do have a datasheet and reference manual. I you don't have those get it from Resources page.

1) For any pirephiral you need to enable clocking. All GPIOs are allready clocked by CircleOS for use with MEMS sensor, display & other. If you don't use CircleOS you will need to do that manualy (code for different libraries):
    RCC_APB2PeriphClockCmd(RCC_APB2Periph_GPIOC, ENABLE); //Using ST-LIB
    RCC->APB2ENR |= RCC_APB2ENR_IOPCEN; //Using CMSIS

2) Configure GPIO as analog pin.
    //ST-LIB
    GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Pin = GPIO_Pin_4 | GPIO_Pin_5; //Ext. connector 11,12
    GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Mode = GPIO_Mode_AIN;
    GPIO_Init(GPIOC, &GPIO_InitStructure);

//CMSIS
    GPIOC->CRL &=~( GPIO_CRL_MODE4 | GPIO_CRL_CNF4 );
    GPIOC->CRL &=~( GPIO_CRL_MODE5 | GPIO_CRL_CNF5 );

3) Enable ADC clock:
    RCC_APB2PeriphClockCmd( RCC_APB2Periph_ADC2, ENABLE ); //ST-LIB
    RCC->APB2EN |= RCC_APB2ENR_ADC2EN; //CMSIS