/var/www/restricted/ssh/stm32/www/stm32circle/ STM CircleOS forum / About multithreading

Username:     
Password:     

Forum

# 1   2010-04-29 10:44:35 About multithreading

ali_zarrouk

About multithreading

Hi ,

I'm working on making a multithreading library for circle os . I got some little problems , sure due to the fact that I'm new to circle os .

I'd like to know :

1) When I func is executed and have an argument input , is that argument placed in R0 ?
2) How can I know the starting point of a routine ( to set the PC of a thread ) ?
3) When there's multiple calls ( subroutines ) , where is placed the LR stack ?

# 2   2010-04-29 12:29:30 About multithreading

ntrf.zns

Re: About multithreading

1) Some info about calling convention could be found in wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calling_convention#ARM

2) Starting point of function is the same as the value of it's C pointer. Use BX #reg assembler routine to jump to certain address instead of seting PC directly (see STM32F10xxx Cortex-M3 programming manual // section 3.8.5)

3) LR is saved in begining of every function that calls another function. In functions that do no call any other functions LR is kept in register. During interrupt LR is saved in stack with other values (see Cortex™-M3 Technical Reference Manual // section 5.5) and replaced with special interrupt return value.

# 3   2010-04-30 14:00:39 About multithreading

ali_zarrouk

Hi , thanks for the answers ntrf.zns

1 ) Clear

2 ) The start routine is the second argument so the branching adress is r1 ---> Clear

3 ) Not that clear this time , I know how LR is manipulated but I wanna know if the current value of LR is saved in the used stack when a subroutine is called ? or another place ? If yes , then the adress where to save is decremented by 4 every time we make a "call"
Is what I said right ?

# 4   2010-04-30 15:58:50 About multithreading

ntrf.zns